Kristina Arakelyan

composer and pianist

Award-winning composer and pianist Kristina Arakelyan's music is often described as intensely lyrical, dramatic and moving. Kristina works with various instrumental combinations including solo, chamber groups, choirs and symphony orchestra.

Latest news: Kristina was commissioned by the Royal Northern Sinfonia to write a composition to be performed in 30/10/2020 at 7:30pm. To access the live-stream concert, please click here!

                    Click here to hear the Saxophone Octet 'Poem' performed by the Royal College of Music Saxophone Ensemble (available from 15/10/20).

                    Upcoming premieres and projects will be posted here in December 2020.





Kristina Arakelyan is an award-winning composer and pianist. Kristina studied at the Royal Academy of Music and the University of Oxford and is currently a doctoral student at King's College, London.

Kristina's notable awards include first prize in the BBC Proms Inspire Young Composers’ competition (2010), Overall Cup winner of the EPTA Composition Competition (2010), First Prize in the Shakespeare 400+ Orchestra of the Swan competition (2014), first prize in the NCEM composers' competition (2016), winner of Royal Northern Sinfonia's composers' competition (2019). 

Kristina's compositions have been heard on BBC Radio 3 on numerous occasions and in prestigious concert halls including the Royal Albert Hall, Wigmore Hall, Steinway Hall, St John's Smith Square, Conville and Caius College (Cambridge), Holywell Music Room (Oxford), St. Martin-in-the-Fields, Southbank Centre, in concert halls in Mexico, Spain, Belgium, Croatia and Armenia. She has had masterclasses most notably with John Adams, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies and Oliver Knussen.



  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Classic
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon